The Book Cover Guessing Challenge

Hello everyone!!! I was tagged by Lashaan and Trang, the guy who strives to be Batman (good luck with this one 🙂 ) and his incredible amazing girlfriend, to do the #bookcoverguessingchallenge. I took it so seriously, so I even went to the bookstore in the centre of the city and analyzed some book covers. So I really enjoyed and embraced the challenge. I usually read about some releases and then look for ratings on Goodreads, but never paid so much attention to the covers. This challenge makes us to overthink this. I am glad you tagged me guys, thank you very much :).

So here we go:

The Three by Sarah Lotz

B22Q9k6CIAA2sl

I think this is about three kids that were kidnapped all over the world, and transported to US (I don’t know why US, this airplane makes me think that). Now, the bad guys attempt to kidnapp the fourth kid but something goes wrong. Two detectives (it has to be two), a man and a woman, start to investigate the kidnaps. The detective man has a boy, like same age with the victims, so he is really commited to the case. The woman detective is involved as well, so they work hard to find out who kidnapped those kids.

Goodreads:

Four simultaneous plane crashes. Three child survivors. A religious fanatic who insists the three are harbingers of the apocalypse. What if he’s right?

The world is stunned when four commuter planes crash within hours of each other on different continents. Facing global panic, officials are under pressure to find the causes. With terrorist attacks and environmental factors ruled out, there doesn’t appear to be a correlation between the crashes, except that in three of the four air disasters a child survivor is found in the wreckage.

Dubbed ‘The Three’ by the international press, the children all exhibit disturbing behavioural problems, presumably caused by the horror they lived through and the unrelenting press attention. This attention becomes more than just intrusive when a rapture cult led by a charismatic evangelical minister insists that the survivors are three of the four harbingers of the apocalypse. The Three are forced to go into hiding, but as the children’s behaviour becomes increasingly disturbing, even their guardians begin to question their miraculous survival…

Verdict:

No way!!! My first try and I am so wrong! I should have focused more on the airplane. I knew it was something wrong with it!! Thanks God I am not designing book covers for living!!! I would be bankrupt!! haha

You by Caroline Kepnes

41ALeS8kbYL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_Let’s try it more harder here!!! Ok, so this is a thriller! It’s about a maniac who hunts innocent girls to kill them. So, the book is about the way he does it, all the prcess. I guess the place where he finds his victims is the metro station! He is a homeless, that has his place on the station. He analyzes all the girls who passes by, until he finds the one who meet his already made profile.

Goodreads:

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

Verdict:

Not even close :(. Now I don’t know which one was worst – this one or the previous one (facepalm). I am starting to think that I watched too many thrillers lately, I have a sick mind. He is just a guy who liked a girl that entered the bookstore, he works in. Why did I think about violence and crime ????

Remember me this way by Sabine Durrant

A1JSeXuDbpL._SL1500_The book is about someone who died and took with her a secret that didn’t want to share with anyone. It was a great person, but something bad happened, that if it would be to be found out all her life would be ruined. Her sister found a letter that reveals some aspects that she didn’t know about her sister before. Starting to investigate, she founds that her sister is not the person she always loved, respected and especially remembered. What will she do now with this secret? Will she change her feelings to her sister? Or will she remember her the way she did before this secret came out?

Goodreads:
Everyone keeps telling me I have to move on. And so here I am, walking down the road where he died, trying to remember him the right way.
A year after her husband Zach’s death, Lizzie goes to lay flowers where his fatal accident took place.
As she makes her way along the motorway, she thinks about their life together. She wonders whether she has changed since Zach died. She wonders if she will ever feel whole again.
At last she reaches the spot. And there, tied to a tree, is a bunch of lilies. The flowers are addressed to her husband. Someone has been there before her.
Lizzie loved Zach. She really did.
But she’s starting to realise she didn’t really know him.
Or what he was capable of . . .

Verdict:

I am going to take this as a good answer!! I was almost close!! Didn’t think about a couple situation, but more sister or family, but still I think I did good!! Iuhu iuhuuu 🙂

Black Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin

скачанные файлыSo the last try! I liked this cover by the way. I like yellow a lot, and black eyed susans are beautiful. That can make a great photoshooting in a field with black eyed susans. 🙂

About the book now. I think it’s related to a girl who has experienced something bad, and the only memory of that comes along with black eyed susans. It could be that the place of the story is somewhere in America, related to a state, or a region where these flowers are planted. So the girl just want to figure out what happened to her. Who did this to her?

Goodreads:

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories.
I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans.
The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a  fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

Verdict:

OHooohhhh I got this!!! I definetly want to read this book! Especially since it’s for Gillian Flynn’s fans! I almost got this one, I am cool 🙂 🙂 I like the idea of the book, it’s exciting to read about such situations when people try to save someone and have a deadline for that.

I am going to tag some famous bloggers:

http://anansi2050.com/

https://ipekseyhanpoyrazkarayel.wordpress.com/

https://thefarragopost.wordpress.com/

https://christiepage808.wordpress.com/

http://fargaregardsanna.wordpress.com/

I hope that you enjoy reading my crazy thoughts about book covers, and as I mentioned in my previous post it’s ook not to participate, but I would really love to see how you perceive book covers. Thank you to  Lashaan and Trang for the challenge.

Bye!

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s